20
Apr
13

by invitation.

Carol Anderson is not a brand I carry.  I have attended a few home parties and generally like the outfits.  So I was surprised to hold an actual Carol Anderson dress in my hands that a customer had left for me to alter.

this is what her label used to look like

this is what her label used to look like

My customer’s mother had worn this dress ‘back in the day’ and while it is made out of 100% Polyester it was also

made in the USA!

made in the USA!

Since then Carol Anderson has changed directions. She no longer supplies retail outlets but sells exclusively through home sales ‘consultants’ (Carol Anderson by invitation).  On her website, it won’t tell you anything about her story but I found a blog entry that describes it pretty well.  A few years back I was constantly invited to attend a CAbi sales party and went a couple of times. Today, either the market has dried up a little or they just don’t invite me anymore. I haven’t had an invitation in ages.  The whole home party thingy is a bit difficult for me as I always feel like I NEED to be a good guest and buy something. Which I have done at a CAbi show because her clothes are really nice and beautifully detailed.

Linking to my earlier entry about the book Overdressed, I checked the labels of my CAbi clothing:

a jersey dress that I take EVERYWHERE

a jersey dress that I take EVERYWHERE

Carol Anderson also makes her clothing in China.

Jeans from my first CAbi party

Jeans from my first CAbi party

This designer has been around for a long time. With companies bringing back work to the US, I wonder if she will be one of them.

0 Responses to “by invitation.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


