10
Feb
13

maintenance

This morning I was pulling a pair of socks out of my sock drawer and discovered

a big hole!

a big hole!

Lately, I have stumbled upon a few blogs on the interwebs which -actually- discuss MENDING, much to my surprise. Mending of old garments, carpets, embroidery… just about anything. For some reason I thought that mending was old-fashioned. That people rather buy new and not mend. Or enjoy the tattered qualities of their possessions. Unless you are as old as I am and your mother taught you how to mend.

Which is why I will share with you how to mend a good old-fashioned toe hole in a sock.  Because we all have them.

First, it is VERY helpful to have the appropriate tools to attempt mending a sock hole:

a darning egg, suitable color thread and an embroidery needle

a darning egg, suitable color thread and an embroidery needle

Instead of the darning egg (this one is from my grandma), you may also use a smooth rock or maybe a glass. However, you will need something to spread out the hole over, because otherwise you’ll either prick your finger or you will end up with an unsightly glob of thread.  It DOES help if you have the right color darning wool for your sock but you might enjoy a patchwork look. Lastly, a needle with a big enough eye to thread your yarn. An embroidery needle helps, especially one with a dull point so as not to break the threads of your sock. I just use what I have, which in this case is a pointed one.

My mother taught me to basically ‘weave’ a patch into the hole.  You start the patch by adding a few lines of thread by going back and forth over the hole, picking up a few threads at either end. I leave a bit of space between the lines, the closer they are, the tighter your patch will be.

see how helpful the darning egg is?

see how helpful the darning egg is?

Then you start the actual weave; again picking up a few threads at either end, you move over one line of thread, then under.  On the way back, move UNDER where you went over and move OVER where you went under. One up, one down , using the needle to lift the darning thread.

one up, one down - see?

one up, one down – see?

(Of course, I had to use black for this sock – which is harder to photograph than anything!)  I usually try to match the stitches of the sock and weave as tight or loose as the sock is knit.

Finishing up, I  also weave through the neighboring stitches  – as you can see, they also look worn and may produce the next hole right away!

helping the thinning sock...

helping the thinning sock…

Voila!  That wasn’t too bad, eh?

 

0 Responses to “maintenance”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


