19
Jan
13

I’m in stitches

Would you believe it? I am deep into my SECOND big knitting project!

2013-01-02 14.11.40

After years and years of knitting a shawl here and another pair of socks there – or maybe a quick armwarmer – I couldn’t wait to get started on my next big project, right after I finished this jacket:

jkt front

(You can see my Ravelry notes here)

Knitting is productive albeit slow. Sewing can get you to your finished product a bit faster, I think.

Over the years, there has always been something that held my attention for a certain timeframe and I would devote a lot of time to it. I remember when I was deep into ebay and bidding and would spend entire nights trying to score one bargain or another. That was even when I only had dial-up. (remember the screetch when connecting to the internet?) My fascination with online bidding has since waned, and I have had a fast internet connection for longer than I can remember.

Then I received a computer camera for a birthday gift and signed up for skype. Wow, did I get sucked into that – whole nights were skyped away with half the world.

Sewing as a passion comes and goes – there are months when I don’t do anything and then others when I get carried away making one thing or another. And can’t stop.

The exciting aspect of all this is that I really look forward to the activity. I like to get all absorbed and watch the progress.

So this time around it is knitting – again.

I have always wanted to have a jacket to wear over a certain tight-fitting brown jersey dress. The green jacket above doesn’t work with it. Reading around in my usual blogs, I found this jacket Tasia of Sewaholic made:

photo courtesy of Sewaholic, a fine sewing/craft blog!

photo courtesy of Sewaholic, a fine sewing/craft blog!

Tasia is wearing it over a dress and I think it might work for my dress as well! I love how tight fitting and short it is.

Instead of the pattern insert this jacket uses, I will modify it to this one:

upper part only, may have to tinker with it a bit

upper part only, may have to tinker with it a bit

I am only visually following the jacket pattern; I am trusting my knitting abilities that it will come out. (after all – I spent my entire university years knitting during lectures!)

Here is a picture of the back in progress:

my 'pattern'

my ‘pattern’

Stay tuned for the finished project!

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Archives

Join 7 other followers


