08
Jan
13

Where I (also) shop.

As many of you know, I own a small beautiful clothing store and pride myself in selling high-quality fashionable clothing. My bread and butter comes from the lovely customers who support an independent retailer and are willing to spend the money to wear something nice.

So I fear very much the arrival of the the book ‘Overdressed. The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion’, which I have on hold at the library. Not only will I find out about clothing production, especially overseas, I am also afraid that I cannot look at fashion the same way ever again.  And that includes the items I sell at my own store and frequently buy for myself.

This is precisely the reason I have to write what I am about to write about TODAY and not after I’ve read the book.

I do trek to the outlet mall. I also buy clothing at thrift stores.

my latest find - an awesome LEATHER jacket

my latest find – an awesome LEATHER jacket

There you have it. I confessed.

I know, this is not a big deal and I don’t have nightmares about it. I partly justify my mall-ventures with the fact that I ONLY do it about once or twice a year. And, of course, there is nothing wrong with buying and wearing second hand clothing.

I have found incredibly unique items, discounted, sometimes in need of repair or alteration… and most of them I love dearly.

Anni Kuan beaded sweater

Anni Kuan beaded sweater

a reworked '60ies skirt and a thrift store jacket

a reworked ’60ies skirt and a thrift store jacket

So far, I have included pictures from finds at the outlet mall (the orange leather jacket), eBay (beaded sweater), the thrift store and my aunt’s closet (skirt and cord jacket).

this coat was half off on an already really good price

this coat was half off on an already really good price

striped tights, 2nd hand jacket

‘free’ jacket, dress sewn by me

What’s more – I sometimes find something in a ‘free’ box on the side of the road, such as the black long jacket above. I thoroughly cleaned this one, shortened the sleeves and mended some holes.

Maybe this is a good balance after all. My closet has everything that was priced ‘free’ to several hundred of dollars.

What about you?  Where do you shop and how do you feel about it?

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Where I (also) shop.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


