19
May
12

I want. And I’m stubborn.

So, a couple of weeks ago, I finally broke down and got myself an iPad. Well, technically, I got myself a toy and  I am fully aware of that. For the longest time, I researched the various tablet options and what they can do in depth to justify this purchase. When Apple came out with the new iPad and subsequently dropped the price for the iPad 2, I could no longer resist.

I got the girly one:

in white.

Naturally, you had to get some cover or protection with it. Their folding cover is so smart, it acts as a turn-on/off switch and a stand, so I ordered that one, too.

in blue. naturally.

Of course, that leaves the back unprotected, which is aluminum and could scratch when carting it around or laying it on hard surfaces.

Immediately after receiving the ‘toy’, I sat at my worktable and began to sew a cover. I used a remnant of the fabric I used for a cover for G.’s tablet, which I gave him for Christmas. Pretty much out of sentimental reasons because said tablet ‘ran’ off with another owner (along with various other precious belongings… but let’s not go there!) and because that cover looked so pretty, I wanted to duplicate it. Only, I did not quite have enough fabric to make the flap as long as I wanted.  And also because I basically never try anything on that I sew (or taste the food that I cook)… it did not – really –  fit.

yeah- too wide on the sides.

Since the fur-lined cover did not fit into my purse, I changed my mind and wanted to make some sort of a slip cover, an open envelope. Measured once, sewed… too tight in all aspects.

will fit upright. useless. 🙂

Okay, the third time is the charm, right? In this case, it took me three tries to finally get it  – I had to measure AND try:

fits snugly. perfect. thank heavens – finally!

pretty blue liner to match the cover.

Have I even said how much I like this iPad? I play music on it all week and the battery lasts almost that full week. The video and sound when skyping is far better than on the ‘other’ tablet.  The ways it handles and works the applications is plain awesome. I’m jazzed. Steve Jobs was a genius. He was stubborn too. So there is hope for me.

2 Responses to “I want. And I’m stubborn.”


  1. May 19, 2012 at 17:41

    Nice! I LOVE my girls iPad!!!!


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Archives

Join 7 other followers


