07
Jan
12

I’m not a Jeans girl

… or so I thought.

There was a time in my life where you would not even see me in any PANTS at all. So much so that a friend of mine once remarked that he almost would not have recognized me because he had only known me in skirts and dresses.

all shapes, all colors...

Well times have changed. I moved to the country of Levi’s, and I started to wear pants. A lot more. I even made some myself. Admittedly, pants are the hardest piece of garment to fit on a woman. (that’s why I don’t carry a lot of them at the store…) Try to fit a pair of Levis’s on me and it simply won’t work. I might be skinny but I do have CURVES. What I need on the hips gapes on the waist! I did a lot better with corduroy, dress pants and slacks.

Remember the time of the ‘carrot’ jeans – wide on the thigh, high on the waist and narrow at the bottom?  This type fit me for the narrow waist but, boy, were they ever uncomfortable! The pair I owned quickly got relegated to work pants.

I found Jeans in particular hard, cold and … not quite dressy enough.  Later, I gasped at the high price of torn up jeans, a concept I still don’t understand. (luckily, that FAD seems to have faded…)

The addition of spandex to Jean fabric was a revelation to me. Finally Jeans were comfortable to wear! Also, bringing the waist down solved the gap problem… and I bought a pair of medium-rise, medium dark Jeans at a woman’s home show, which lasted me a very long time. (probably because I did not wear them that often)

I now own a good half dozen pairs of Jeans. Light blue to super dark.  I love them all and wear them often. My favorite brand seems to be Mavi, a line out of Turkey. Their rise comes to just below the belly button, which makes them comfortable to bike in. I can also eat quite a bit without having to pop the button open.

Jeans CAN be very dressy, especially the darker kind.

... paired with a fancy cardigan

Jeans ALWAYS look good combined with a a blouse

or a white shirt.

Jeans can dress DOWN a fancy jacket or top.

Dark Jeans work well for the office combined with a jacket and they can dress UP a simple t-shirt or ‘bland’ sweater.

I am now definitively a Jeans girl!

Happy New Year!

 

0 Responses to “I’m not a Jeans girl”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Archives

Join 7 other followers


