25
Feb
11

black with polka dots

For the past two weeks, I have put myself in a sewing challenge.

I NEED to decrease my fabric stash or I won’t allow myself to buy any more.

Combining a t-shirt top with a simple ruched skirt, I came up with this:

After consulting with my friend B. for patterns, she had the idea to make an A-line dress out of this fabric, using the border both on the skirt and on the arms.

This jersey is VERY lightweight and drapey, therefore I did not trust it to hold ANY shape.

The arms might look like they hit me in an odd spot, but since the fabric is so light, I do not mind the length.  Also, I wanted to use ALL of the polka dots for the arms but not make it into a long-sleeve number by adding more black to the upper arm.

For the upper body, I used the bust part of this t-shirt…

… and attached pretty much the remaining fabric as skirt.

The pattern calls for sewing around the middle ring, but I chose not to  – after not being able to ‘pretty’ do it on a previous shirt I made.  Instead, I used a regular key ring that I fed through the tunnel, which I sewed with the fabric laying flat.

I really like the feel of this dress and can’t wait to take it out.

Thanks B. for pointing me in the right direction – one fabric down!

1 Response to “black with polka dots”



Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


