20
Feb
11

more buildings

Coming form another country, where building restrictions are common, I am continuously surprised by what is possible here.

Don’t get me wrong: I am a TOTAL fan of modern buildings!

However, I don’t understand how a building like this is possible between the turn-of-the-century (LAST century, no less) clapboard sided houses.

Or this monster:

I have blogged about this site before.

The blue house in the back seemed out of proportion for the neighborhood of small one story cottages at the time.

Imagine my surprise when they put up these TOWERS!

Are giants going to move in there???

I don’t understand Portland’s building laws.

Honestly.

1 Response to “more buildings”


  1. 1 Rob
    February 20, 2011 at 17:23

    Gabi and I have gazed aghast at similar monstrosities and structural incongruency during our walks. From a cultural standpoint, we Americans don’t generally include aesthetics in our neighborhood design plans, not even in a ‘progressive’ city like Portland. In general, whether it’s gardening, building, or drafting legislation, Americans tend to take the short view.

    That’s my two cents. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


