02
Mar
10

cleaning up and making space

The big thaw finally happened.

(…and I will absolutely, blissfully ignore that they are predicting more snow for Friday!)

What was piled up on the sidewalks, in driveways and on walkways in parks basically melted away over night.  What was left was so ugly, disgusting and awful that I refused to take a picture.  Just imagine mountains of coarse little rocks, litter, broken bottles and EVERYTHING that Berlin shot up in the air on New Year’s Eve.  Yes, TWO months ago.  Believe me, I know this city. I have lived here. And I have avoided for many years to be around on New Year’s Eve – just because of that.  This place goes crazy. While this may be fun for some, the aftermath was always hard to deal with.  Berlin took it’s sweet time to clean up the mess.

Now imagine all of this ground into mush, rotting paper, glass shards and plastic strewn about. For more than TWO solid months that were covered in snow. I feel for Berlin.  It is a city hit extremely hard in these economic times.  Up to 25% unemployed. Close to bankruptcy, struggling. Being here, you feel its heartbeat every minute.

I am fortunate to have the use of a sweet little apartment in the center of Schoeneberg. It belongs to a dear friend who spends most of his time in Costa Rica but has kept his place and lets me use it when in town.  I look at it as a home away from home – it is so familiar. The view above is down from the balcony on the 5th floor. You can step outside and see how Berlin is doing from there.

From my high perch, I witnessed the cleaning crews pile up the rocks and shovel them into their trucks.  I saw them empty the garbage bins that had not been emptied for weeks.

The sun came out briefly today and shone a pretty light on the swept sidewalks.  I did a little cleaning myself… got some fresh flowers and straightened things out.

My heart beats for Berlin!

1 Response to “cleaning up and making space”


  1. 1 Jenn
    March 2, 2010 at 10:05

    So glad to hear from you, Misha! Those flowers brighten up the room wonderfully–keep your fingers crossed for spring, soon!


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Archives

Join 7 other followers


