22
Jan
10

This is how I work

For most of my shop time, I have taken on custom work – just because I like to sew.  Little did I know, how hard I became on myself doing it.

For one thing, I THINK I am a pretty good seamstress.  Most of the time I think so highly of myself that I do not even try on what I make for myself.  Needless to say that this practice has cost me not only a lot of fabric (because it does NOT fit) but has also resulted in countless disappointments.

When I sew for other people, though, I am VERY conscientious.  I want for the item to fit.  I have them come in for -sometimes multiple-fittings.  I want them to like what I have created.

And these are the exact reasons why I so very reluctantly sew for people anymore.  Too time consuming.  Too much of my ego at stake.

That is also the reason why I had this fabric laying around since summer.  Yes, that’s right, since SUMMER.  In addition, it is a beautiful Kente cloth FROM Africa.  It is supposed to be a jacket.  It has to be a very simple jacket, because is isn’t a whole lot of fabric.

I finally got around to cutting it out.

This is how I work.

1 Response to “This is how I work”


  1. February 2, 2010 at 19:01

    Misha,

    Nathan has been trying to reach you at your now disconnected number. I told him you certainly would be in touch before you leave. He needs his jeans. Congrats on your move! You did it! H can be reached @ 503.860.0905.


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


