24
Aug
09

Oh no! … I brought my work home!

I know, I know, I shouldn’t complain…. a lot of people HAVE to bring their work home to get it done.  Usually, I try to avoid it, though, as much as I can.  As a small business owner, I feel like I am wearing so many hats already:  I am shopkeeper, bookkeeper, buyer, marketing exec, website updater, blogger, employer, and many more at the same time.  Let’s say this:  being your own boss has its certain ups and downs.

At least on one of the days that I am not at the shop, I will still do some work:  fabric shopping, ordering, bookkeeping.   This ‘weekend’ I have decided I need to work on my alterations – because they all have a DEADLINE of this coming week.

bridesmaid

pinks

The bridesmaid dresses are made of a beautiful shantung silk and are one of the mail-order cases:  they fit in one spot and are wrong on ALL the others.  The waist  and the straps need to be taken up, the sides need to be taken in and they need to be hemmed (which is the least of all problems….)

The pink assembly on my cutting table include:  a vintage dress (peach color, left), which had the armholes completely torn – I have already serged around them; now I need to turn the edges under so it can be worn again.  The tutu (middle) needs to have the waist moved; my customer wants the skirt to be a lot more puffy.  The slip on the right has to have the straps shortened and the hem taken up.

This is work for FIVE customers who all need it by FRIDAY!

This is how my room will turn into a WORKSHOP.  And yes, it was designed for that:

sergers

My Babylock and the coverlock are always here, because I do not have room for them at the shop.  I LOVE my cutting table:  it can be pushed into the wall and almost disappear – it is the best place to lay out big bolts of fabric, cut and assemble.

brother

Unfortunately, I own only ONE sewing machine.  This Brother is my WORKHORSE and I dread the day when it needs repair because I have NO backup.  I have no other room for it than on my (messy) desk.

So, here I go:  I have my work cut out:

work

I has taken over my room.

1 Response to “Oh no! … I brought my work home!”


  1. 1 Naomi
    August 27, 2009 at 09:06

    The dreaded twins! I kid;)

    Will miss Amy!


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


