17
Jul
09

Dresses for the dog days of Summer

Alright – I am unpacking boxes that contain ‘Transition Wear’, which means heavier fabrics and long sleeves.  And we just hit 95F (about 33C) and I’m SWELTERING.  This summertime weather made me think about the lightest dresses that are in my closet.  How you want as little fabric around your body but still looking decent.

It also made me think about some of my dear customers who will do anything not to show much of their skin.  For various reasons.  A regular pet peeve is arms.  Oh, I just don’t have those Michelle Obama arms, they will say, I CANT”T POSSIBLY wear that!  And granted, Michelle Obama has spectacular arms (as I was writing about here), I wanted to give a few suggestions for dresses for these dog days of summer – for the arm-challenged and the lucky ones (with sweet defined arms….)

I put SOFIA in the dresses but have to inform you that she has ABSOLUTELY no challenges other than pink really does not look good on her.  She also is almost 6 feet tall (180cm) and has firm skin (sic!), so keep that in mind.

Sofia halter dress

This halter dress by Press is my number one choice for a hot day.  Soft cotton and free flowing.  However, lots of skin showing on top.  So not for the arm-challenged or the office worker.

Sofia halter Hazel tunic

So I just put her in that mesh tunic/blouse by Hazel.  It covers nicely yet is airy enough to be worn on a hot day.

Sofia silk black dressSofia Hazel print dressSofia SKFK dress

These three also work for covering up the shoulders.  I own the black Anni Kuan dress and wear it in all temperatures, it still does not cling to the body.  The Hazel print wrap dress is of lightweight cotton jersey.  It takes a bit more guts to wear the Skunkfunk bubble dress but its sophisticated stitching and loose fit make for a good companion on a hot summer day.

AKN blue dressSofia liberty sheeth

While these two dresses do not have sleeves, they are nonetheless modest in the skin department.  Both by Anni Kuan, they are of lightweight cotton and have airy prints.  Just the right thing for a summer day.

Hazel strap dressHazel smock dress

Now, these little numbers require that you are willing to show some skin AND leg,

like you can see here:

Naomi3

Oh, how I wish I had her skin!

0 Responses to “Dresses for the dog days of Summer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


