01
Jul
09

Fourth of July

It has almost been a year ago when I discovered that my dog gets spooked.  I was writing about it here.

Back then, I had no idea what made her tuck in her tail, lay back her ears and head straight back to home.  I know a lot more today.

It is the fireworks.  Any type of banging scares the hell out of her.  First, I learned that the Portland airport uses scare guns to get the birds off the runway.  I learned about that when our airport was quoted for having an effective system of deterring the birds from the planes by blowing up those guns.  Good for the planes, bad for my dog.  We live too close to the airport and when the wind is blowing just so – well, she hears it.  Trembles and heads for home.

The other bird guns are on the Interstate bridge to Washington.  I guess the city does not want them to build their nests in the lofty steel.  Can’t blame them – the view is beautiful.  But heck, when the wind is just so – see above.

Now it is THAT TIME OF YEAR.  I live in THAT TYPE OF NEIGHBORHOOD as well.  Days before the 4th, when it is not even dark, the kids send off the fireworks.  And for days after they will do it, too.  Poor Bella knows it, knows it in her guts.  Even when it is all quiet.  She knows.  They can go off ANYTIME.

Now, I am a good dog owner.  I stay steadfast on our walk.  I do not coo all over my dog and hug her to tell her that everything is alright.  I know that the best strategy is to keep calm and walking.

bella cooling off

Happy Fourth of July!

I’ll go to the country.  And take the dog.

The shop will be closed.

2 Responses to “Fourth of July”


  1. 1 Naomi
    July 15, 2009 at 12:03

    I love it too!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Naomi
    July 15, 2009 at 12:04

    OOOppps! I meant to comment on the red tunic….


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


