25
Jun
09

Passion Confession: Great Authors, Good Books

Last night I had the distinct pleasure of attending an interview with Carlos Ruiz Zafon.  He is the author of ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ (Der Schatten des Windes), which I read just before a trip to Barcelona. Not only is this one of the most compelling stories I read during the last few years, it is also written in a most beautiful language.

What made lat night’s event so memorable is mostly due to Carlos Zafon himself.  He speaks very good English with this slight Spanish tinge –  and he does it with ease, wit and compassion.  The college professor (I forget his name), who interviewed him had good questions to which Zafon responded in at least twenty minute answers.  A comment that stuck with me was the following:  Zafon refuses to have any of his books made into a movie.  He states that he has revised, edited and rewritten his stories at least a ‘million times’ and this is as good as it gets – there will be no movie version.  If he had not before, I won me over right there and then.  I love a book that sucks you in, transports you into its world and keeps a firm grip on you while reading. If I ever see the movie after reading the book, I am mostly disappointed.  The images are not what I had in my head when I read the book.  The story takes a different turn AND it is over WAY to quick.  I prefer to have my own ‘movie set’ in my head.

The event was held in the Bagdad Theater, put on by Powell’s.  I love the Bagdad, its darkness, its decorations, and I try to sit in the very first row to get the most of the presenter’s presence.  Just like a good book.  And of course, Powells!  Zafon thinks this is the best bookstore in North America.  I agree.

His new book ‘The Angel’s Game’ is now sitting at home.  I can’t wait to crack it open!

0 Responses to “Passion Confession: Great Authors, Good Books”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


