20
May
09

I have a three-day weekend

This January, I created a job for someone.  I hired a lovely lady to help me in the shop part-time.  Adding an employee was a first to me but I feel good;  in this economy I was able to create a job and it feels like my business is ‘growing up’.

Another reason for this hire was also that I needed some time off.  The shop is closed on Mondays and giving someone just one day to work did not seem fair.  I now have a weekend form Sunday through Tuesday.  I work four days and have three off – does that not sound wonderful?  It is, and yet, I feel the need to ‘do something for the shop’ at least one of those days.  The plan was to work (design and sew) at least for one of those days so I can justify three days ‘off’.

Well, it has taken me from January until YESTERDAY to finally make good on that plan.  I mean, I did draw up patterns AND sewed the entire day.  It felt GREAT.  And here is the result:

tencel top
I made this top.  This Anni Kuan skirt beckoned for a top in that rusty, spicy color.  I had ordered it with the teal paper silk top but it seems teal does not look great on every skin tone.  I needed something warmer.  On Monday, I ventured out to the fabric shop and they had this beautiful Tencel fabric in just the right color!

I am pleased with my ‘weekend’ and how productive I was!

0 Responses to “I have a three-day weekend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


