28
Dec
08

More to be grateful for

This morning on my walk with the dog I found two pennies.  I tossed one for good luck and kept the other one, also for good luck.  The snow is gone and so I biked to work.  The streets are clear and life seems to be getting back to normal.

Then I opened the shop.

l10605891l10605881

This thing had fallen.  Right in between a display rack and a lamp.  By some miracle it did not touch anything, not even the mirror.  Right smack in the middle it fell where there was some ‘room’.

Why?  I have no idea… it seemed pretty sturdy.  Maybe the melting snow lifted off weight from the roof?

I am very grateful for no damage.  Mind you, this shelf is from IKEA and nothing  broke or a dent was seen in the drawers.  Wow!

So I called the dear husband to help me get it back up.  Which, of course, with it being IKEA is no small task.  But we got it and I am grateful for a skilled husband.  Always.

Now, this is my last day at the shop for this year.  I get to have 4 days off.  Yeah!!!  Thanks to the snow.

Also thanks to the snow, my shop has seen many more walkers and customers than it ever has.  Which made for a delicious Christmas shopping season.  I am grateful for the snow and the lovely customers that I got to meet.

This has been a good year in many ways.  Thanks to everyone, my neighbors here, my help at the shop, my customers, my vendors – I am looking forward to a great 2009.

Happy NEW Year!

3 Responses to “More to be grateful for”


  1. January 2, 2009 at 21:02

    Thanks for sending me your wonderful updates and link to the blog. I can’t wait to get back in the shop- now that I can get out of my house again- yeah! (ooh…I like the grey leg warmers!)

    Misha, all my best to you for a happy, healthy and prosperous new year!

    Best, Leslie

  2. 2 Amy
    January 8, 2009 at 00:20

    How did I not know of this collapse??????
    That is weird! You need to call my “job flexible” husband…he thrives on fixing things…I am not kidding.

    • January 8, 2009 at 14:30

      So does mine… and I ‘ordered’ him down here and he came right away! So if you ever need anythings and your’s is in Indiana or some other weird place – we call him!


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


