18
Oct
08

Grandma’s Coat No.2

J. has not picked it up yet and I will get a picture of her wearing the coat when she does.

This one was not in as good of a shape like the other one that I did for her.  The lining was torn in places and the wool turned brittle in a few spots.  The tailoring on this coat is very elaborate and that’s why J. wanted to preserve the coat as best as she could.

You can tell from my pinning where we wanted to go with this.  Instead of taking it in at the sides, I tapered the three back seams.  The front side seams have pockets in them.

Before picture

The coolest part of this coat is the label that is sewn into the garment.  I bet you don’t find these anymore.

Union Label

It reads:

Union Made

International Ladies Garment Workers Union

Internet, if you know when these were used, I’d like to know!

I also significantly shortened the sleeves.  With the leftover fabric from the bottom I inserted triangles to make the sleeves wider.

After picture

Arm detail

Grandma, if you’re watching from above, I hope you approve!

0 Responses to “Grandma’s Coat No.2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


