07
Mar
08

Wedding in San Diego

She lives in Portland but will get married in San Diego, her hometown, early April. As with every wedding, the bride is totally busy putting all the pieces together. Especially now – she only has three more weeks left! And because she is a thoughtful bride, she wanted to give something special to her bridesmaids. I must admit that I don’t know a whole lot of ‘bridal’ customs; the few tidbits I know are either from attending a handful of weddings AND from reading Dear Amy in the paper. (…which is a fantastic source of all kinds of ‘how-to’ and ‘what-not-to-do’ around this country….) When we got married, we probably did it in completely uncommon fashion, at least according to my mother in law.

So here is my bride-to-be. She had emailed me a while back asking if I knew of someone who could do embroidery on cardigans. She had six cardigans, one for each bridesmaid, and six different motifs. Each motif relates her to the bridesmaid in a special way. For instance, her grandmother taught her to be expressive, thus the drama faces on the cardigan.

I had done embroidery for customers before but nonetheless wanted to check with a professional embroiderer to see what her machine could do. It turns out that embroidery machines have to be programmed for each design individually – even a small and simple design – on the computer, and then the designs are stitched onto the fabric. For what my bride wanted to do, this was too expensive of an option.

When she delivered the cardigans and the ideas for the individual designs, doing it by hand seemed to be the best option. We positioned the paper designs on the cardigans,

cardis-paper.jpg

I had my husband transfer the designs (there is nothing like having an artist in the family!),

cardis-draw.jpg

and I started stitching away. Embroidery is actually a very calming and satisfying occupation because you can follow your progress and you have a rather neat result in a matter of hours. I did notice, though, that my eyes could possibly use some reading glasses. I have been resisting that notion for a long time but more and more I don’t even recognize my best friends walking in the door after staring down on needlework for a while. Darn! – in the truest sense of the word!

Well, here are the finished designs! Can’t wait for the pictures of the wedding!

cardis-done-merge.jpg

0 Responses to “Wedding in San Diego”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


