28
Feb
08

The SOCK pole

The other day, my husband and I spent the night at a hotel for a little getaway. Our room was on the third floor, the former attic space of the place. Pretty much next to our bed, there was a green colored nice size (vertical!) pole. It gave him ideas right away. But no, we did not use it for that purpose at all. However, it gave me ideas, too….of a different kind. I am expecting a load of socks and have absolutely no room for them anymore on my SOCK wall.

sock wall

All of this, of course, when the weather is a balmy 60 degrees and the Portlanders strip their feet immediately of any leg wear whatsoever. Go figure!

Anyway, I am in dire need of more display space for the incoming socks. Hence, the idea for the pole. For the entire time I had this store (2 years!) – there was this eye hook in the ceiling, leftover from the previous tenant. I do not like it when dandy things like this go unused. I was thinking of suspending an advent wreath from it. It would have hit anyone coming in smack in the face. So much for that. It was too high up for clothing. Again, my customers would have been greeted by a brush of cloth in the face. Then I just simply chose to ignore the hook. Until our stay at the hotel. Ha!!! There was the pole – and the hook – and maybe a chain – and I had it all figured out.

I moved the hook (had to: see above). Went to the hardware store and found a pretty chain. Snuck off with one of my husband’s cowboy boots (he has not found me out yet… ) and put the whole thing together. Bingo!

sock pole naked

Now I only need the socks. (it has been two full days since I finished the contraption… ) And there is another hook right above the cash register. I have ignored it for a long time……

1 Response to “The SOCK pole”


  1. 1 Gudrun
    March 2, 2008 at 16:07

    Hi, welcome to the world of blogs. At least it’s a “welcome” to me. I’ve never written to a blog. I’m curious to see how this all goes. Kind of interesting.
    Cheers,Gudrun


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives

Join 8 other followers


